Tyler J. Jenkins, MD

Dr. Tyler J. Jenkins is a fellowship-trained spine surgeon who has dedicated his career to the comprehensive treatment and surgery of spinal disorders. He has a special interest in motion-sparing (non-fusion) surgery, scoliosis, revision surgery, and minimally-invasive techniques.

Dr. Jenkins was raised in Eureka, Missouri. He attended the Honors College at the University of Missouri on academic scholarship, graduating summa cum laude with a degree in chemistry and was elected into Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society. Dr. Jenkins attended medical school at the University of Missouri and graduated with superior distinction for his academic and leadership achievements. He completed his general surgery internship and orthopaedic surgery residency at Northwestern University in Chicago, IL. He then graduated from the world-renowned spine surgery fellowship at Emory University in Atlanta, GA. His training at Emory focused on complex spine surgery at Emory University Hospitals, Grady Memorial Hospital, and the Atlanta Veterans Hospital.

Dr. Jenkins is passionate about evidence-based spine care and he believes that the best way to stay engaged in this life-long learning is through research and a continuous search for solutions to clinical problems. He has authored numerous publications, textbook chapters, and presented research at national symposiums. His textbook “Spinal Conditions in the Athlete” is currently in publication. He has earned top research awards from the North American Spine Society, Cervical Spine Research Society, and the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgery. In collaboration with top spine surgeons across the country he developed the “No S.C.A.R.E. Protocol” which aims to improve safety for patients undergoing cervical surgery throughout the country.

This pursuit of learning has left Dr. Jenkins with the conclusion that the marriage between evidence-based research and listening to each individual patient is at the heart of medicine. Most patients with spinal conditions do not need surgery and can be effectively managed with injections, medications, alternative medicine, diet, and exercise. However, when a spine surgery is needed choosing the unique operation for the individual patient will lead to the best outcomes. A personalized and caring approach is what patients can expect when consulting with Dr. Jenkins.

Dr. Jenkins and his wife Dr. Ashley Jenkins, a dermatologist at Central Missouri Dermatology, are ecstatic about practicing in Missouri after training throughout the country. The opportunity to work-in and give back to the community that has given them so much was too good of an opportunity to pass up. In their limited free time, they try and soak up every moment with their children and are active in their church community.
Other individuals working directly on Dr. Jenkins’s team are Jena PA-C, Lydia administrative assistant, and Shana, Nurse.

Specialty: Orthopaedic Spine Surgery
Undergraduate Education: University of Missouri
Medical School: University of Missouri
Orthopaedic Surgery Residency: Northwestern University – Chicago, IL
Fellowship: Complex Spine Fellowship Emory University – Atlanta, GA

Clinical Interests:
• anterior lumbar interbody fusion
• cervical disc herniation
• cervical fusion
• cervical myelopathy
• compression fractures
• disc degeneration
• discectomy
• discography
• endoscopic disc surgery
• herniated disc
• kyphoplasty
• kyphosis
• laminectomy
• laminoplasty
• lumbar decompression
• lumbar disorders
• lumbar fusion
• magnetic resonance imaging
• microdiscectomy
• microsurgery
• minimally-invasive spine surgery
• motion-sparing surgery
• multiple myeloma
• neck pain
• non-fusion surgeries
• osteomyelitis
• posterior lumbar interbody fusion
• radiculopathy
• sciatica
• scoliosis
• spinal implants
• spinal stenosis
• spinal surgery
• spinal trauma
• spinal tumors
• spondylolisthesis
• spondylosis
• thoracic disc herniation
• thoracic fusion
• vertebral fractures
• vertebroplasty

I encourage you to play an active role in your spine care. Use this area to find educational articles about spine anatomy, conditions, and treatments from NASS, SRS, and AAOS. Increased understanding of your health can lead to better outcomes!

Anatomy of the Spine & Spine Health

Spine Basics: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/diseases–conditions/spine-basics

Low Back Basics: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/globalassets/pdfs/about-your-back.pdf

Disc Herniation: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/globalassets/pdfs/herniated-disk.pdf

Keeping Your Back Healthy: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/staying-healthy/?bodyPart=Back

Osteoporosis: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/osteoporosis/

Osteoporosis & Spine Fractures: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/osteoporosis-and-spinal-fractures/

Neck Problems

Pinched Nerve (Cervical Radiculopathy): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-radiculopathy-pinched-nerve/

Neck Arthritis (Cervical Spondylosis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-spondylosis-arthritis-of-the-neck/

Spinal Cord Compression (Myelopathy): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cervical-spondylotic-myelopathy-spinal-cord-compression/

Back Problems

Slipped Vertebrae (Spondylolisthesis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/adult-spondylolisthesis-in-the-low-back/

Back Pain in Children: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/back-pain-in-children/

Cauda Equina: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/cauda-equina-syndrome/

Lumbar Herniated Disc (Disc Bulge): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/herniated-disk-in-the-lower-back/

Lumbar Herniated Disc Video: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/herniated-disk-animation/

Lumbar Stenosis (Pressure on Nerves): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/lumbar-spinal-stenosis/

Lumbar Stenosis Video: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/spinal-stenosis-animation/

Pars Fracture (Spondylolysis): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/diseases–conditions/spondylolysis-and-spondylolisthesis/

Treatments & Surgeries

Anterior Lumbar Interbody Fusion (ALIF): https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/anterior-lumbar-interbody-fusion

Bone Grafts in Spine Surgery: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/bone-grafts-in-spine-surgery

Cervical Radiculopathy Treatment Options: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/cervical-radiculopathy-surgical-treatment-options/

Cervical Myelopathy Treatment Options: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/cervical-spondylotic-myelopathysurgical-treatment-options

Lateral Lumbar Interbody Fusion (XLIF): https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/lateral-lumbar-interbody-fusion

Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/minimally-invasive-spine-surgery/

Transforaminal Interbody Fusion (TLIF): https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion-plif-tlif/

Posterolateral Lumbar Fusion: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/posterolateral-lumbar-fusion/

Preparing for Back Surgery: https://orthoinfo.aaos.org/en/treatment/preparing-for-low-back-surgery/

Spinal Fusion: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion

Words Used During Spine Surgery: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/treatment/spinal-fusion-glossary

Spine Conditioning Program: https://www.orthoinfo.org/en/recovery/spine-conditioning-program